New Test for Computers – Grading Essays at College Level – NYTimes.com

Standard

New Test for Computers – Grading Essays at College Level – NYTimes.com.

I actually feel ill reading this.

There are so many reasons why this is a bad idea.  Not least of which being that it threatens my job.  But I will try to state my concerns.

1) We write to an audience.  It is hard to write to a computer.

2) All of what I do as a teacher, and did as a professor, was based on what I learned from my students through assessment.  Assessment means many things, from looking at body language when a student is having one-on-one instruction to the reading of essays.  Assessment is a major component of teaching.  It’s like saying, I am a heart surgeon, but I don’t check to see if my patients live.  How is that okay?

This just makes me sick.  And it is yet another testament that this country is more interested in money than education.

Where is the Dramamine?

 

Leave a Reply

