Week 31 – Student A’s Response: Third Draft

Standard

Third Draft – So this is where we knuckle down on the grammar and mechanics.

When students hand it in, I edit their papers.  Only I am allowed to edit papers because, well, honestly, students really can’t be trusted to do this.  I do not correct their papers.  Let me repeat, “I do not correct their papers.”  And once more, I do not correct their papers.

Correction is their job.  If I make corrections for them, they learn to rely on me and do not learn the grammar rules.  I enable bad behavior.  No, thank you.  Instead, I write codes on their papers which correlate to a grammar rule sheet that all the students have.  So, you will see things like “format” or “comma-intro” written on their papers.  Student go look up the rule, write the rule, and correct their paper.

This is called the PSR or Personal Skill Record.  If you scroll all the way down, you will see the grammar and mechanics rules that Student A broke.  She wrote down the code, the rule, and the number of times she made the mistake.  And finally, she fixes these errors in her final draft.

I do not always choose to catch all of the errors (sometimes I just don’t catch all the errors) because I don’t want to overwhelm a student.  However, I am looking to see that a student has fewer and fewer errors as the year progresses.

Students who have no errors get 10pts. free and have no homework.  It’s worth it.

3rd draft tree 1
3rd draft tree 2
3rd draft tree 3

PSR tree

2 responses »

  1. I’ve read your entire blog the past few nights. You are an inspiration! I have a similar PSR that I learned from Kelly Gallagher, but I am curious about your grammar rules– how many are they accountable for? I am currently using Shurley English, and I believe I could do a similar coding system for accountability. Any other info on the PSR would be helpful. Thank you for this goldmine of a blog!

    • You’re welcome! My grammar program stemmed from English 3200 or English 2600 depending on what of level students I was working with, although my PSR sprung from The Grammar Goddesses. Both textbooks start right at the very beginning of grammar, as in, “Is this a sentence?” So, as we progressed, I added to the PSR as we moved through the book. So, for example, at the beginning of the year, if a student left a verb out of a sentence, I wrote the incomplete sentence code on the page. I tried not to write a code for a student if we hadn’t covered the rule. It’s easy to overwhelm students, so although they were given the entire code packet (which I tweaked to hit the grammar rules I thought we’d be most likely to need) they may not get a certain code for half the year because we hadn’t covered it in class. So, once we’d covered it, I’d start to draw attention to the “comma, conjunction error” and later “adverbial clause error”. And if I felt that a student’s paper was just getting pounded, I’d pick a few grammar rules that really needed work and stick with those. And, hey, if papers came in with no errors, either because we hadn’t covered that material or because there were simply no more than one error for the whole 3rd draft, I’d do a happy dance. Happy dances are totally under appreciated. Good luck with grammar, it sounds like you’re making good progress. 🙂

Leave a Reply

